537

I hold it true, whate’er befall,
I feel it, when I sorrow most,
‘Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.

1909 – a hundred years ago this postcard was sent in Wilmington, Ohio on Sept. 26 at 3:30 pm. Well, that’s when it was postmarked at least. Can you see my wonky embroidery stitches? Not exactly straight. Embroidery on paper is a little different than fabric. I do glue some muslin to the back first to prevent the stitches from pulling through. You also have to do the stab stitch thing or your paper will get crinkled up.

539web

For God so loved the world.

A lace sampler. Four patch strip, buttons, a Christmas stamp and a piece of WWII England ordnance map. I like the map for its colors and age. The paper is backed with an open weave fabric of some kind and all bodies of water are a lime green. Oops, I just checked, the green are woods. Why would they indicate bunches of trees?

Have a great Monday.
