A new project. I’d like another quilt for my bed. I don’t know why big quilts (using miniatures of course!) have been in my mind lately.  Would you like to sew along?  Here are the particulars:

  • King size,   112″ x 98″
  • 56 blocks
  • 1.5″ – 4″ miniatures in a 14″ block
  • minis in color surrounded by muslin
  • writing around each mini
  • 11 yds fine muslin (top and binding)
  • miscellaneous scraps for minis
  • Printed pattern will be available near the end.

How long will this take? I don’t know. I’m aiming for 56 different blocks, we’ll see how that works out. Some will be simple simple,  the 4″ blocks will be more complicated. I don’t have my muslin yet, want the good stuff, but here’s the first mini, not sewn yet but you can see the pattern.

A – 1 @ 1″ x 1″
B – 4 @ 1″ x 1″
C – 8 @ 1″ x 1″
D – 12 @ 1″ x 1″
E – 8 @ 1 3/8″ x 1 3/8″, cut in half diagonally
The corner E triangles will be too large, just trim them after sewing the block together. Sew in diagonal rows and press seams toward the B and D squares. Press seams between rows open.

I’ll show you the writing around it and the full block once I get the muslin. Happy Monday all.

P. S. The Rhode Island trip was wonderful. Great food, hilarious conversations, surprising shopping finds and heart warming memories to bring home.

Added note: I know this should have been a Friday Find, but I forgot that it was Friday and I like the original post title better anyhow. Traveling sure messes with my ability to know what day it is!
