It’s done and hung!

Antique blocks, except for the hexagon flower on top, appliqued onto some Kona White and quilted simply. Even the binding is antique fabric. Very happy with the way it turned out. I have a few more in mind with more antique blocks in a modern setting.

I held my breath and washed and dried the quilt to get it all puckery. Love that texture. I’d washed the blocks but not the binding  so I knew I was taking a chance.

So, speaking of hanging quilts…how do you hang your quilt?

I like a quilt to hang flat on the wall, without a bulge across the top from a dowel. I don’t want to be able to tell how the quilt is hung. The first 2 photos below are with a dowel. Just wanted to get it up on the wall. I do not like this way.

This next photo is so much better IMHO.

It’s flat, just a quilt laying on the wall.

I used a piece of trim board, 1/4″ x 2″ with small cup hooks in either end. And then also put a board on the bottom edge as well because I’ve noticed that even if a quilt hangs flat at first the bottom will eventually get wavy. I cringe when I see beautiful quilts, sometimes even by professional artists, and they hang it with a big honkin dowel, as evidenced by the bulge across the top.

