As always, a wonderful time.

It was different in a few ways this time. Thursday we heard helicopters and when we came back from dinner in town, were stopped by police to inform us of a missing 60 yr old woman. Initially we didn’t know why she was missing and so it was a little weird thinking there might be some guy out there abducting women and us with no locks on the doors! We were inside having a grand time with friends but knowing some gal may be having the worst night of her life. She was found and hopefully will get some much needed help. Poor lady was depressed and spent two nights outside (that is my assumption, the outside part).

On a happier note, my machine had had enough and decided to stitch so badly it wasn’t worth using. The fact that I’ve only had it cleaned once in 12 years may have something to do with it. Sheesh. I hope that’s the case, find out tomorrow. Here’s what I used in its place…

Lucky me Penny only wanted to hand stitch this time. What a straight sewer this little machine is. If it sewed a zigzag it’d be the machine for me, and at a much more affordable price than the new machines out there today. It’s a 1950’s Featherweight. I sewed this mug rug entirely on it.

Roylene brought this pattern, On The Fly to retreat. Dona thought it looked fun so she tried it (3rd from left), Barb ran out of things to sew and liked what Dona had done so she tried it too (4th from left and 4 rows on right).  Then I ran out of things I could do (needed that zigzag) so I joined in the fun (two rows on left) What are we going to do with these? Uh, no idea.

On the way home we stopped and I wasn’t going to buy anything until Barb pointed out the thread was 50% off. Well, I had just pieced a few things which I didn’t have thread to match for quilting. What else could I have done?

Lastly, I saw this in a magazine. It was done in silk but how easy to used cotton solids. Just liked it.

Eventually I’ll get photos of the other pieces I worked on. Hope you’ve had time to create recently.

See ya.

