Have you seen the latest Modern Patchwork  (March/April 2017) magazine?

improv-clothesline

Back story:  In my local Modern Quilt Guild we did an exchange with some gals from a traditional quilt guild about an hour away. I had written up a simple tutorial, which is what we followed. Then after the exchange my group got together, designed a layout and pieced the top together.  (Designing in a group was interesting, I’d like to do that again) Once the quilt was finished, we went to their meeting, did a modern quilt presentation and shared the quilts we had sewn from each others guild. It was a blast.

The quilt in the green/grey setting (in the magazine) was the first quilt. I sewed it to show what I was talking about in the tutorial. After my group got together to set the exchange blocks I wondered how many settings I could come up with myself. I sewed up 20 blocks and found 19 more settings but the blocks were getting ragged so I finally stopped. I enjoyed this all so much I decided to share and sent it in to see if they’d publish it. They did.

The second quilt in the magazine, the frame setting, is pieced by members of the Wenatchee guild (blocks), set together by Moses Lake Modern Quilt Guild and quilted by Charisma Horton.

Below is one of those 19 settings I came up with and it’s scrappy back. Just finished today. :o)

improv-cross

crossback

See ya.

